Who We Are

Arthur Ross Book Award

The annual Arthur Ross Book Award recognizes books that make an outstanding contribution to the understanding of foreign policy or international relations. The prize, endowed by the late Arthur Ross in 2001, is for nonfiction works from the past year, in English or translation, that merit special attention for:

  • bringing forth new information that changes the understanding of events or problems;
  • developing analytical approaches that offer insights into critical issues; or
  • introducing ideas that help resolve foreign policy problems.

2018 Awards

Gold Medal
Stephen Kotkin
Stalin: Waiting for Hitler, 1929-1941

Silver Medal
Michael J. Green
By More Than Providence: Grand Strategy and American Power in the Asia Pacific Since 1783

Bronze Medal
Masha Gessen
The Future Is History: How Totalitarianism Reclaimed Russia

2018 Shortlist

When the World Seemed New: George H.W. Bush and the End of the Cold War
Jeffrey A. Engel

The Future Is History: How Totalitarianism Reclaimed Russia
Masha Gessen

By More Than Providence: Grand Strategy and American Power in the Asia Pacific Since 1783
Michael J. Green

Stalin: Waiting for Hitler, 1929-1941
Stephen Kotkin

All Measures Short of War: The Contest for the Twenty-First Century and the Future of American Power
Thomas J. Wright

Anatomy of Terror: From the Death of Bin Laden to the Rise of the Islamic State
Ali Soufan

Arthur Ross Book Award Events

You can view past Arthur Ross Book Award events and read the transcripts here.

The Past Winners

Here is the list of past winners of the Arthur Ross Book Award, 2002 through 2017.


The deadline to submit nominations for the 2019 Arthur Ross Book Award is Sunday, February 17, 2019. If you would like to nominate a book published in 2018 for the 2019 award, please email ARBA@cfr.org with the following in the text of the email:

  • Book title
  • Book author
  • Publication date
  • Publisher name
  • One-page description or press release

For any other inquiries, please call 212.434.9600.


Gideon Rose (Chair)
Peter G. Peterson Chair and Editor, Foreign Affairs

Lisa Anderson
President Emerita, American University in Cairo

Nicholas Eberstadt
Henry Wendt Chair in Political Economy, American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research

Sumit Ganguly
Rabindranath Tagore Chair in Indian Cultures and Civilizations, Indiana University, Bloomington

Michelle D. Gavin
Senior Fellow for Africa Studies, Council on Foreign Relations; Former Ambassador to Botswana

Walter Russell Mead
James Clarke Chace Professor in Foreign Affairs and Humanities, Bard College

Susan Kaufman Purcell
Independent Consultant

Susan L. Shirk
Research Professor and Chair, 21st Century China Center, UC-San Diego

Calvin G. Sims
President and Chief Executive Officer, International House

Andrew Ross Sorkin
Columnist and Assistant Business Editor, New York Times

News Releases

News Releases