Arthur Ross Book Award

Past Winners of the Arthur Ross Book Award

2017 Awards

Gold Medal
John Pomfret
The Beautiful Country and the Middle Kingdom: America and China, 1776 to the Present

Silver Medal
Robert F. Worth
A Rage for Order: The Middle East in Turmoil, From Tahrir Square to ISIS

Bronze Medal
Svetlana Alexievich
Secondhand Time: The Last of the Soviets

2016 Awards

Gold Medal
Niall Ferguson
Kissinger: 1923-1968: The Idealist (Penguin Press)

Silver Medal
Thomas Christensen
The China Challenge: Shaping the Choices of a Rising Power (W.W. Norton & Company)

Bronze Medal
Charles Moore
Margaret Thatcher: The Authorized Biography—Volume II: Everything She Wants (Penguin Random House)

2015 Awards

Gold Medal
Thomas Piketty
Capital in the Twenty-First Century (Belknap Press)

Silver Medal
Stephen Kotkin
Stalin: Volume I: Paradoxes of Power, 1878-1928 (Penguin Press)

Honorable Mention
Evan Osnos
Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

2014 Awards

Gold Medal
Gary J. Bass
The Blood Telegram: Nixon, Kissinger, and a Forgotten Genocide (Alfred A. Knopf)

Silver Medal
Carter Malkasian
War Comes to Garmser: Thirty Years of Conflict on the Afghan Frontier (Oxford University Press)

Honorable Mention
Benn Steil
The Battle of Bretton Woods: John Maynard Keynes, Harry Dexter White, and the Making of a New World Order (Princeton University Press)

2013 Awards

Gold Medal
Fredrik Logevall
Embers of War: The Fall of an Empire and the Making of America's Vietnam (Random House)

Silver Medal
Anne Applebaum
Iron Curtain: The Crushing of Eastern Europe, 1944 - 1956 (Doubleday)

Honorable Mention
Daron Acemoglu and James A. Robinson
Why Nations Fail: The Origins of Power, Prosperity, and Poverty (Crown Business)

2012 Awards

Gold Medal
John Lewis Gaddis
George F. Kennan: An American Life (The Penguin Press)

Silver Medal
Jason Stearns
Dancing in the Glory of Monsters: The Collapse of Congo and the Great War of Africa (PublicAffairs)

Honorable Mention
Daniel Yergin
The Quest: Energy, Security, and the Remaking of the Modern World (The Penguin Press)

2011 Awards

Gold Medal
Carmen M. Reinhart and Kenneth S. Rogoff
This Time is Different: Eight Centuries of Financial Folly (Princeton University Press)

Silver Medal
Thomas Hegghammer
Jihad in Saudi Arabia: Violence and Pan-Islamism since 1979 (Cambridge University Press)

Honorable Mention
Charles A. Kupchan
How Enemies Become Friends: The Sources of Stable Peace (Princeton University Press)

2009 Awards

Gold Medal
Philip P. Pan
Out of Mao's Shadow: The Struggle for the Soul of a New China (Simon & Schuster)

Silver Medal
Ahmed Rashid
Descent into Chaos: The United States and the Failure of Nation Building in Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Central Asia (Penguin Group)

Honorable Mention
Gareth Evans
The Responsibility to Protect: Ending Mass Atrocity Crimes Once and For All (Brookings Institution Press)

2008 Awards

Gold Medal
Paul Collier
The Bottom Billion: Why the Poorest Countries Are Failing and What Can Be Done About It (Oxford University Press)

Silver Medal
Trita Parsi
Treacherous Alliance: The Secret Dealings of Israel, Iran, and the United States (Yale University Press)

Honorable Mention
Robert Dallek
Nixon and Kissinger: Partners in Power (HarperCollins Publisher)

2007 Awards

Gold Medal
Kwame Anthony Appiah
Cosmopolitanism: Ethics in a World of Strangers (W.W. Norton)

Silver Medal
Robert L. Beisner
Dean Acheson: A Life in the Cold War (Oxford University Press)

Honorable Mention
Thomas E. Ricks
Fiasco: The American Military Adventure in Iraq (The Penguin Press)

2006 Awards

Gold Medal
Tony Judt
Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945 (Penguin Press)

Silver Medal
Olivier Roy
Globalized Islam: The Search for a New Ummah (Columbia University Press)

Honorable Mention
George Packer
The Assassins’ Gate: America in Iraq (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

2005 Awards

Gold Medal
Steve Coll
Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan, and bin Laden, from the Soviet Invasion to September 10, 2001 (Penguin Press)

Silver Medal
Stephen Biddle
Military Power: Explaining Victory and Defeat in Modern Battle (Princeton University Press)

Honorable Mention
James Mann
Rise of the Vulcans: The History of Bush’s War Cabinet (Viking Books)